2023 Presentation Awards Night Wednesday 20th September 2023

Award winners and partners together with guests enjoyed a great night at the Club’s annual Presentation Awards night.

Congratulations to the 2023 award winners which are:


Skipper’s Award:              John Giuliano

Navigator’s Award:          Anita Giuliano


Heaviest Snapper:            John Tsirigos

Heaviest Whiting:            John Malempre

Heaviest Salmon:             Mark Norris

Heaviest Flathead:           Tony Huxham

Heaviest Squid:                 John Malempre

Heaviest Gummy /

School shark:                   Mason Verginis

Most unique catch:         Herb Lonsing

Game Fishing Award:      Toni Hawkens

Ladies Award:                   Anita Giuliano


25 Year Members:            Peter Currey, John Firth, Marty Jay, John Heron, Noel McNicol, Peter Quinton, Geoffrey Sanguinetti, Christopher Scerri

40 Year Members:            Brian Andrews, Kenneth Benson, Graham Burns, Kenneth Caldecott, Richard Coburn, Michael Hale, Daryl Sheilds

50 Year Member:             Rob Ungar


JR Kerr Awards

B&C Winner:                      Gary Tragardh

10th:       Wayne Paravicini              9th:         Eddie Zahra        Equal 7th:            Mark Hyland, Brian Willis

6th:         Tony Huxham                    5th:         Steve Lopes                       4th:         Mark Mackie

3rd:         John Giuliano                    2nd:         Brian McNaughton          1st:         Les Sabo             

Club Awards

Award of Appreciation:   Nick Conidi, Ben Fletcher, Greg Fitz, John Bacon

Respected Member:        Roger Hartley

Honorary Life Member:  Brian Willis

The night is always an important calendar event, giving all in the room a great reason to celebrate all things good about BMYS and to recognize the great milestones and wins members were able to achieve over the past year.

Guests at this year’s awards included several of the Club’s major sponsors who participated in presenting various awards.

Many thanks to Club Manager Alex Henderson and staff for the great support provided to this event.

Pictures included here are for various award winners and present at the Awards Night. Absent winners will have their awards made available later.

Cover picture – Les Sabo feeling extra good about being presented with the J.R. Kerr Trophy for 2023 by Commodore Michael Busuttil (with 2nd and 3rd placegetters, John Giuliano(left) and Brian McNaughton (right).

Contact Us

  • Visit:
  • Post:
    • PO Box 45, Black Rock VIC 3193

Opening Hours

  • Member's Bar:
    • Thursday: From 4pm
    • Friday: From 4pm
    • Saturday: 12pm - 6pm
    • Sunday: 12pm - 7.30pm
  • Restaurant:
    • Thursday: Bookings from 5.30pm
    • Friday: Bookings from 5.30pm
    • Saturday: Available for private functions
    • Sunday: Available for private functions
  • Office:
    • Monday to Friday: 9am - 5pm