BMYS Presentation Night Wednesday 14th September 2022

The Club conducted its annual Presentation Awards night on Wednesday 14th September. After all the interruptions arising from Covid restrictions, it was great to have this important Club night back as a live event and at its traditional time.

Award winners and partners together with guests enjoyed a great night at the Club.

Awards and presentations include:

  • An award of a Club Life Membership to former Commodore David Bell.
  • Tony Huxham being declared the winner of the JR Kerr Club Championship Award for 2022.

Congratulations to David and Tony.

Other awards and prizes include:

  • Ian Jones Shield as the award for the heaviest whiting - Eddie Zahra with a 0.566kg whiting.
  • The heaviest flathead award - Wayne Paravicini with a 1.430kg flathead
  • The BMYS award for the heaviest shark - Brian McNaughton with a 5.086kg shark.
  • The John Zahra Memorial Shield for the award for the heaviest snapper - Andrew Smith with a 5.675kg snapper.
  • The BMYS award for the heaviest squid -Frank Strafford with a 0.204kg squid.
  • The most unique catch caught - Eddie Zahra with a 0.245kg sweep.
  • The Des Garnett trophy for the heaviest salmon - Eddie Zahra with a 0.596kg salmon. 
  • The BMYS Footy Tipping trophy for 2022 AFL Home & Away season - Noelyn Schumacher.
  • The Wackett Trophy Nav Rally for the 2021/22 season - Beeracuda, skippered by Graeme Joynson / Peter Leason and Spirit Level, skippered by Bill Joughin / Andrew Cropley( tied 3rd place);  Second place boat Mystic: skippered by Rob Mignone / Matthew Hunt; and First place boat was Black Dolphin: skippered by John Giuliano / Anita Giuliano.
  • Table Rock Trophy (BMYS Boating family connection) - Second place Bill Joughin (step-son) Andrew Cropley as Navigator (Spirit Level); First place John Giuliano (with his wife) Anita Giuliano Navigator Black Dolphin.
  • BMYS Navigator’s Award: Third  place Navigator is (tied) Andrew Cropley / Peter Leason; Second place Navigator is Matthew Hunt; and First place Navigator is Anita Giuliano.
  • Bill Down Memorial Award for the highest aggregate score for a Skipper: Third place Skipper is Bill Joughin / Graham Joynson (tied); Second place Skipper is Robert Mignone; and First place Skipper is John Giuliano.
  •  Members reaching the 25 year membership Milestone in 2021:

David Bell, Peter Vieceli, Andrew Bounos, Peter Quinton.

  • BMYS members achieving the milestone of 40 years of membership:

Graham Burns, Mike Hale

  • Awards of Appreciation for 2022:

John Regester, Simon Bartaby, Mark Hall, Hein Preller

  •  Life Membership Award:

David Bell

  • J.R. Kerr Club Championship:

Category B & C (membership) winner - David Kirton

Category A (membership) winners:

Equal Tenth - John Malempre, Ian Whiteside                        

Equal Sixth - Steve Lopes, John Giuliano, Tav Ngo, Brian Willis 

Fifth place - Barry Stewart

Fourth place - Eddie Zahra

Third place - Eddie Gray

Second place - Les Sabo

First place -  Anthony Huxham

The Club's Presentation Awards Night is always an important calendar event, giving all in the room a great reason to celebrate all things good about BMYS and to recognise the great milestones and wins members were able to achieve over the past year.

Pics of the award winners and present on the night are included here in the news item gallery.

Many thanks to Club Manager Anthony Heyde and staff for the great support of this event.



Contact Us

  • Visit:
  • Post:
    • PO Box 45, Black Rock VIC 3193

Opening Hours

  • Member's Bar:
    • Thursday: From 4pm
    • Friday: From 4pm
    • Saturday: 12pm - 6pm
    • Sunday: 12pm - 7.30pm
  • Restaurant:
    • Thursday: Bookings from 5.30pm
    • Friday: Bookings from 5.30pm
    • Saturday: Available for private functions
    • Sunday: Available for private functions
  • Office:
    • Monday to Friday: 9am - 5pm